Thai Cooking Classes and Kick Boxing

Chiang Mai

After my glorious hot shower a bunch of us piled into a Tuk Tuk and headed to a market to pick up some food because we were attending a cooking class! The woman running the class was going to show us what type of ingredients we should be looking for and what is the best to buy. The market itself was so cool, full of people and lots of food!

Our poor teacher lost the sole of her shoe while walking through the market so she had to purchase some new shoes. Thank goodness the market had a little of everything! For our cooking class we cooked Pad Thai (which I burnt naturally), Green Coconut Chicken Curry, Tom Yum Soup and Deep Fried Bananas in a coconut mixture. Yum! It was all very delicious if I do say so myself, besides my burnt Pad Thai. I am literally the worst cook in the world, it’s amazing I only managed to mess one dish up!

After our successful cooking class at Bhum we headed to the night market, where I bought a passport cover with an elephant decal. I have been searching for a passport cover that suited me for ages so I was extremely happy I purchased one. And it is unique!

After our stroll around the night market some of us were off to see a Thai Kick Boxing Match (I was extremely excited), some of the others opted to go see a lady boy show instead. We were in for a bit of shock when we got to the Thai Boxing Match… Did you know they start them as young as 10 years old? I certainly did not. Needless to say it wasn’t all pleasant. I still don’t know how I feel about watching such young kids fight. And they don’t hold back! We saw various ages ranging from 13-19 and then finally the finale which was early to late twenties.

We saw 16 year old girls fight and I have to admit that was pretty awesome. I really enjoyed watching them fight, they were super bad ass. The sound their kicks make is insane, they punch and kick each other so hard! We saw a guy from Toronto, Canada fight and he was doing pretty good I thought, but then he got knocked out and I mean knocked out cold. It was crazy. We saw about 7 fights I would say. We saw some crazy fighting! I’m really glad I went, such a different experience than anything I have seen before. After the fight we tried to go to a bar but all the bars closed early (12am)! We bought some beer (illegally, because you can’t buy alcohol after 12am in Thailand) and headed back to our hotel, where we drank and hung out in the lobby. We had a lot of fun just drinking and chatting, I can’t say it enough, I just love the group I traveled with.

  

Leave a comment